College-wide Navigational Links | Go to Local Content
Main Content |

Food Science & Technology: About Us

Personnel

The Department of Food Science and Technology has an experienced group of employees to maintain our mission. Faculty members teach and conduct research on functional foods, value-added processing, and food microbiology/safety, as well as provide training and support for the food industry. Technical staff supports research into new processes and techniques for providing safe, healthy, and flavorful foods. Administrative staff provides support services to students and faculty to achieve their mission.

Athens Campus

Name Position
Contact
Faculty
Akoh,* Casimir C. Distinguished Research Professor cakoh@uga.edu
Clark, Kevin D. Associate Research Scientist kclark@uga.edu
Dee,* Derek Assistant Professor ddee@uga.edu
Frank, Joseph F. Professor Emeritus cmsjoe@uga.edu
Harrison,* Mark A. Josiah Meigs Distinguished Teaching Professor & Graduate Coordinator mahfst@uga.edu
Hurst, William C. Professor & Extension Outreach Coordinator bhurst@uga.edu
Kerr,* William L. Professor and Coordinator for
Food Processing Research & Development Laboratory (FPRDL)
wlkerr@uga.edu
Kong,* Fanbin Associate Professor

fkong@uga.edu

Mohan,* Anand Assistant Professor, Extension Specialist anandm@uga.edu
Paton,* Chad Assistant Professor cpaton@uga.edu
Pegg,* Ronald B. Professor rpegg@uga.edu
Reyes De Corcuera,* José Associate Professor & Undergraduate Coordinator jireyes@uga.edu
Singh,* Rakesh K. Professor & Department Head rsingh@uga.edu
* Able to serve as a Major Professor for graduate students

top

Name Position
Contact
Athens Staff
Cash, Lisa Administrative Associate I (706) 542-2286
lcash@uga.edu
Deneau, Taylor IT Professional (706) 542-2139
tjd@uga.edu
Harris, Vickie Wentzel Research Professional II (706) 583-8913 vwentzel@uga.edu
Hirsch, Gwen Laboratory Manager II (706) 542-4005
ghirsch@uga.edu
Kormanik, Taryn

Program Coordinator II

(706) 542-9069
Taryn.K@uga.edu

Lord, Doris Administrative Manager (706) 542-1089
dlord@uga.edu
Mayes, Eve Program Coordinator I (706) 542-0272
ebmayes@uga.edu
Morris, Danny Laboratory Manager II (706) 542-1070
dmorris@uga.edu
Porterfield, Lisa Business Manager II (706) 542-1083
lporterf@uga.edu
Ruiz, Carl Laboratory Manager I (706) 542-1064
cmsruiz@uga.edu
Simmons, Karen Program Coordinator II (706) 542-3045
karens@uga.edu
Wendinger, Marian Program Specialist II (706) 542-2574
marianw@uga.edu

top

Griffin Campus

Name Position
Contact
Faculty
Adhikari,* Koushik Assistant Professor koushik7@uga.edu
Beuchat, Larry R. Research Professor Emeritus lbeuchat@uga.edu
Chen,* Jinru Professor jchen@uga.edu
Chinnan, Manjeet S. Professor Emeritus chinnan@uga.edu
Deng,* Xiangyu Assistant Professor xdeng@uga.edu
Diez-Gonzalez, Francisco Professor fdiez@uga.edu
Doyle,* Michael P. Regents Professor mdoyle@uga.edu
Erickson, Marilyn C. Associate Professor mericks@uga.edu
Hung,* Yen-Con Professor yhung@uga.edu
Kealey, Kirk S. Director, Food Product Innovation
and Commercialization Center (FoodPIC)
kikealey@uga.edu
Ortega,* Ynes Associate Professor ortega@uga.edu
Phillips, Robert D. Professor Emeritus rphilli@uga.edu
Zhao, Tong Associate Research Scientist tongzhao@uga.edu
* Able to serve as a Major Professor for graduate students

top

Name Position
Contact
Staff
Banister, Brenda Administrative Manager
Center for Food Safety
(770) 228-7284
bbanist5@uga.edu
Brown, Donna Associate Accountant (770) 412-4758
dwb315@uga.edu
Farrell, Glenn Research Professional I (770) 412-4747, ext. 147
gfarrell@uga.edu
McCullough, Sue Ellen Laboratory Technician II (770) 412-4747, ext. 150
smccul@uga.edu
Thomas, Sue Sr. Accountant
Center for Food Safety

(770) 228-7284
tsuebo@uga.edu

Walker, Sandra Laboratory Technician III (770) 412-4747, ext. 150
swalker@uga.edu

top

Adjunct Faculty

Name Position
Email
Faculty
Berrang,* Mark Adjunct Assistant Professor mark.berrang@ars.usda.gov
Cannon,* Jennifer Adjunct Associate Professor jcannon@uga.edu
Greer, Derek M. Adjunct Associate Professor DGreer@goldenstatefoods.com
Kornacki, Jeffrey L. Adjunct Assistant Professor Jlkorn731@gmail.com
Li,* Jian-rong Adjunct Professor lijr6491@163.com
Mani,* Sudhagar Adjunct Associate Professor smani@uga.edu
Park,* Bosoon Adjunct Professor bosoon.park@ars.usda.gov
Sanchez-Brambila,* Gabriela Adjunct Assistant Professor

gabriela.sbrambila@ars.usda.gov

Smith,* Mary Alice Adjunct Professor masmith@uga.edu
Zhuang,* Hong Adjunct Associate Professor hong.zhuang@ars.usda.gov
* Able to serve as a Major Professor for graduate students

top

University of Georgia (UGA) College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences (CAES)