College-wide Navigational Links | Go to Local Navigational Links
Local Navigational Links | Go to Main Content
Main Content | Go to Searching Tools

Food Science & Technology: About Us

Personnel

The Department of Food Science and Technology has an experienced group of employees to maintain our mission. Faculty members teach and conduct research on functional foods, value-added processing, and food microbiology/safety, as well as provide training and support for the food industry. Technical staff supports research into new processes and techniques for providing safe, healthy, and flavorful foods. Administrative staff provides support services to students and faculty to achieve their mission.

Athens Campus

Name Position
Contact
Faculty
Akoh,* Casimir C. Research Professor cakoh@uga.edu
Clark, Kevin D. Associate Research Scientist kclark@uga.edu
Eitenmiller, Ronald R. Professor Emeritus eiten@uga.edu
Frank,* Joseph F. Professor cmsjoe@uga.edu
Harrison,* Mark A. Professor & Graduate Coordinator mahfst@uga.edu
Huang,* Yao-Wen Professor huang@uga.edu
Hurst, William C. Professor & Extension Outreach Coordinator bhurst@uga.edu
Kerr,* William L. Professor and Coordinator for
Food Processing Research & Development Laboratory (FPRDL)
wlkerr@uga.edu
Kong,* Fanbin Assistant Professor

fkong@uga.edu

Mohan,* Anand Assistant Professor, Extension Specialist anandm@uga.edu
Pegg,* Ronald B. Associate Professor rpegg@uga.edu
Reyes De Corcuera,* José Associate Professor & Undergraduate Coordinator jireyes@uga.edu
Singh,* Rakesh K. Professor & Department Head rsingh@uga.edu
Wicker,* Louise Professor & MFT Coordinator lwicker@uga.edu
* Able to serve as a Major Professor for graduate students

top

Name Position
Contact
Athens Staff
Cash, Lisa Administrative Associate I (706) 542-2286
lcash@uga.edu
Hirsch, Gwen Laboratory Manager II (706) 542-4005
ghirsch@uga.edu
Knight, Beth Administrative Specialist I (706) 542-1089
bknight@uga.edu
Mayes, Eve Program Coordinator I (706) 542-0272
ebmayes@uga.edu
Morris, Danny Laboratory Manager II (706) 542-1070
dmorris@uga.edu
Porterfield, Lisa Business Manager II (706) 542-1083 porterf@uga.edu
Ruiz, Carl Laboratory Manager I (706) 542-1064 cmsruiz@uga.edu
Sharma, Vijendra Laboratory Technician III (706) 542-4502

vsharma@uga.edu

Simmons, Karen Program Coordinator II (706) 542-3045
karens@uga.edu
Wendinger, Marian Program Specialist II (706) 542-2574
marianw@uga.edu
Wentzel, Vicki Research Professional I (706) 583-8913 vwentzel@uga.edu

top

Griffin Campus

Name Position
Contact
Faculty
Adhikari, Koushik Assistant Professor koushik7@uga.edu
Alali,* Walid Associate Professor walali@uga.edu
Beuchat, Larry R. Research Professor Emeritus lbeuchat@uga.edu
Cannon,* Jennifer Associate Professor jcannon@uga.edu
Chen,* Jinru Professor jchen@uga.edu
Chinnan, Manjeet S. Professor Emeritus chinnan@uga.edu
Deng,* Xiangyu Assistant Professor xdeng@uga.edu
Doyle,* Michael P. Regents Professor mdoyle@uga.edu
Erickson, Marilyn C. Associate Professor mericks@uga.edu
Hung,* Yen-Con Professor yhung@uga.edu
Ortega,* Ynes Associate Professor ortega@uga.edu
Phillips, Robert D. Professor Emeritus rphilli@uga.edu
Zhao, Tong Assistant Research Scientist tongzhao@uga.edu
* Able to serve as a Major Professor for graduate students

top

Name Position
Contact
Staff
Brown, Donna Associate Accountant (770) 412-4758
dwb315@uga.edu
Farrell, Glenn Research Professional I (770) 412-4747, ext. 147
gfarrell@uga.edu
McCullough, Sue Ellen Laboratory Technician II (770) 412-4747, ext. 150
smccul@uga.edu
Walker, Sandra Laboratory Technician III (770) 412-4747, ext. 150
swalker@uga.edu

top

Adjunct Faculty

Name Position
Email
Faculty
Berrang,* Mark Adjunct Assistant Professor mark.berrang@ars.usda.gov
Brody, Aaron L. Adjunct Professor aaronbrody@aol.com
Kornacki, Jeffrey L. Adjunct Assistant Professor Jlkorn731@gmail.com
Li, Jian-rong Adjunct Professor lijr6491@163.com
Mani,* Sudhagar Adjunct Associate Professor smani@uga.edu
Park,* Bosoon Adjunct Professor bosoon.park@ars.usda.gov
Sanchez-Brambila,* Gabriela Adjunct Assistant Professor

gsbrambila@gmail.com

Smith,* Mary Alice Adjunct Associate Professor masmith@uga.edu
Zhuang,* Hong Adjunct Associate Professor hong.zhuang@ars.usda.gov
* Able to serve as a Major Professor for graduate students

top

Searching Tools | Go to Footer Information
Footer Information | Go to College-Wide Navigational Links
University of Georgia (UGA) College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences (CAES)